The Ball-Perry House was built in 1903 upon an impressive corner lot in West Austin, now located within the Castle Hill Local Historic District. Its design exemplifies the late Queen Anne architectural style in massing, ornament, and detail. It was constructed of St. Louis pressed red brick with a rusticated limestone base and cut limestone window headers and sills. The wraparound porch features Ionic columns supporting a second story balcony. The steeply pitched roof is accented with deep carved wood brackets. The home has gone through several transformations over time, its brick painted white, the open balconies enclosed, and interior subdivisions creating as many as 11 apartment units.
O’Connell Architecture led the complete restoration of this magnificent home to remove alterations and reconstruct missing porch and roof details. Paint has been stripped from the masonry, expansive porches are opened to the outside again, and charming roof details have been reconstructed to match historic photographs.